Last updated: November 2023

Utah Auto Insurance

Whether you’re shopping in downtown Salt Lake City or driving to a state or national park to enjoy a weekend away, affordable auto insurance coverage can help protect you, your loved ones, and your vehicle on every adventure across Utah. So, take a few minutes to learn about car insurance in Utah. Find out which coverages are mandatory, which ones are optional, and how a Direct Auto Insurance policy could be your cheap Utah car insurance solution. Get a free quote to see how much money you can save.

Utah Car Insurance Laws

Do you have to have car insurance in Utah?

Utah law requires all drivers have proof of financial responsibility, which is most commonly satisfied with a car insurance policy. Utah auto insurance policies must at least meet the minimum liability coverage limits, typically expressed as three numbers representing thousands of dollars. For example, the liability limits in Utah are 25/65/15, as shown below under Utah Minimum Car Insurance Requirements.

In addition to liability coverage, Utah requires drivers to carry Personal Injury Protection, often referred to as “PIP” coverage.

Utah Minimum Car Insurance Requirements

Wondering what your insurance policy needs to fulfill Utah’s insurance requirements? Here’s a quick breakdown by coverage type.

Coverages

Is It Required by Law?

Bodily Injury Liability Coverage provides financial protection if you cause an accident that injures another person. It helps pay for their medical expenses and your legal services (if necessary).

Yes. $25,000 bodily injury per person/$65,000 bodily injury per accident.

Property Damage Liability Coverage helps pay to repair or replace other people’s property that is damaged in an accident you cause. It typically involves damage to another vehicle, but it could help pay to repair a house, fence, mailbox, and more.

Yes. $15,000 property damage per accident.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage (UM/UIM) helps pay for your medical bills and related expenses if the other driver has no coverage (UM), insufficient coverage (UIM), or can’t be identified due to hit and run. In some states, UM/UIM can also help pay for property damage.

Not required. Please note, UM property damage coverage is an available option when comprehensive and collision coverage are not purchased.

Personal Injury Protection (PIP) helps pay for your medical and related expenses stemming from an accident, regardless of fault.

Yes. $3,000 PIP coverage.

Collision Coverage helps pay to repair or replace your vehicle if you collide with another car, tree, guardrail, or another object, regardless of fault.

Not required.1

Comprehensive Coverage helps pay to repair or replace your vehicle if it’s damaged by something other than a collision, like fire, floodwaters, falling branches, vandalism, or contact with an animal.

Not required.1


IMPORTANT NOTE: While purchasing liability coverage and PIP coverage helps you satisfy state laws, it doesn’t protect you or your vehicle in every circumstance. You would need to add additional coverage, like UM/UIM, comprehensive and collision, to protect yourself and your vehicle more fully.

1Your lender may require these coverages if you lease or finance your vehicle.

Are there additional coverage options?

For added peace of mind, there are add-on services and other insurance products available to Utah drivers:

Utah Proof of Financial Responsibility and Penalties

What if I don't meet Utah’s minimum car insurance requirements?

Utah takes a strict stance on uninsured drivers. The fines and other penalties for driving without insurance vary depending on the nature of the violation. 

Utah requires drivers to always carry proof of coverage, and the state uses an insurance verification program to identify vehicles without an appropriate insurance policy in force. If a vehicle owner is unable to provide proof of insurance, they could be facing a misdemeanor charge that comes with a fine (that increases per offense), lose their registration, and see their license suspended.

Penalties for Driving with a Suspended License in Utah

Driving without a valid license can lead to severe penalties in Utah. The infraction is typically charged as a Class B misdemeanor that can come with potential jail time and a steep fine. Therefore, if your license is ever suspended for any reason, it’s important to follow the steps to get it reinstated before getting behind the wheel.

SR-22 Insurance in Utah

Some states require high-risk drivers to keep an SR22 (also known as a certificate of financial responsibility) on file with the state verifying they have purchased auto insurance coverage that satisfies the state’s minimum coverage requirements. You might be required to keep one on file if:

If you have any questions about SR-22 filings, we’d be happy to help. Our agents specialize in helping people find affordable car insurance coverage, regardless of their history.

High-Risk Auto Insurance in Utah

Many individuals do not have a perfect driving record, and after a certain number of violations or a serious enough violation, drivers can be considered a major risk to insure. While some companies try to steer clear of these individuals, other insurance companies offer non-standard insurance (another name for high-risk auto insurance) to provide financial protection for these drivers.

We believe your driving history shouldn't define you forever, and we work hard to find quality, affordable coverage for every driver, regardless of their past.

Where can I find the cheapest car insurance rates in Utah?

Car insurance costs vary depending on a number of factors, including:

  • The amount & type of coverage you choose
  • The year, make, and model of the vehicle you drive
  • How much you drive, where you drive, and where you live
  • Your demographics
  • Your driving record
  • Your credit history

Other Utah Auto Insurance Resources

Find Cheap Car Insurance in Utah with Direct Auto!

Looking for affordable and cheap car insurance in Utah? Get a free car insurance quote for a Direct Auto policy today that meets your state’s requirements, fits your needs, and includes any discounts you’re entitled to receive so your premium is the lowest price possible. Call or click to get a Utah car insurance quote today!

*Emergency Protection Plans (EPP) and Roadside Assistance are not insurance and are administered through Nation Safe Drivers, Boca Raton, FL. Not all benefits available in all states.
**The “Direct Auto Insurance” brand is used by insurers in the National General Group, Winston-Salem, NC to describe their direct-to-consumer auto insurance programs. Direct Auto Insurance branded policies are produced by Direct General Insurance Agency, Inc. dba “Direct Auto Insurance” and by National General Insurance Marketing Inc.

For additional details and disclaimers, please see our Terms of Use.

Find a Store

Enter ZIP code to find a store near you.

Start Auto Quote

Enter ZIP code to start your quote.