Last updated: August 2022
Direct Auto is proud to offer car insurance in Louisiana, the “Pelican State.” There are beautiful views on display all around “Sportsman’s Paradise,” but before you take off driving along the bayou to see a stunning sunset, you’ll need to make sure you and your car are protected with affordable auto insurance. We’re teaching you which coverages are mandatory, which ones are optional, and how Direct Auto can help you find cheap Louisiana car insurance. Get a free quote to see how much money you can save with Direct.
Louisiana Car Insurance Laws
Do you have to have car insurance in Louisiana?
Louisiana law requires all drivers to carry an insurance policy for any automobile they own. Louisiana auto insurance policies must at least meet the minimum liability coverage limits, typically expressed as three numbers representing thousands of dollars. For example, the liability limits in Louisiana are 15/30/25, as shown below under Louisiana Minimum Car Insurance Requirements.
Louisiana Minimum Car Insurance Requirements
Wondering what your insurance policy needs to make sure you’re complying with Louisiana’s laws? Here’s a quick breakdown by coverage type.
Is It Required by Law?
Bodily Injury Liability Coverage provides financial protection if you cause an accident that injures another person. It helps pay for their medical expenses and your legal services (if necessary).
Yes. $15,000 bodily injury per person/$30,000 bodily injury per accident.
Property Damage Liability Coverage helps pay to repair or replace other people’s property that is damaged in an accident you cause. It typically involves damage to another vehicle, but it could help pay to repair a house, fence, mailbox, and more.
Yes. $25,000 property damage per accident.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage (UM/UIM) helps pay for your medical bills and related expenses if the other driver has no coverage (UM), insufficient coverage (UIM), or can’t be identified due to hit and run. In some states, UM/UIM can also help pay for property damage.
Collision Coverage helps pay to repair or replace your vehicle if you collide with another car, tree, guardrail, or another object, regardless of fault.
Comprehensive Coverage helps pay to repair or replace your vehicle if it’s damaged by something other than a collision, like fire, floodwaters, falling branches, vandalism, or contact with an animal.
IMPORTANT NOTE: While liability-only coverage ensures you meet Louisiana’s insurance laws, it provides no protection for your own injuries or damage to your own vehicle. You would need to add additional coverage, like UM/UIM, comprehensive and collision, to protect yourself and your vehicle more fully.
1Your lender may require these coverages if you lease or finance your vehicle.
Are there additional coverage options?
For added peace of mind, Direct Auto offers add-on services and other insurance products for Louisiana drivers:
- Roadside Assistance*
- Medical Payments Coverage (Med Pay)
- Towing & Labor Coverage
- Rental Reimbursement Coverage
Louisiana Proof of Financial Responsibility and Penalties
What if I don't meet Louisiana’s minimum car insurance requirements?
If you're caught driving without insurance in Louisiana, you could be subject to serious consequences. The Department of Insurance's consumer guide states that you can be fined “$500 to $1,000 for knowingly operating a vehicle without insurance, being involved in an accident without insurance, and committing fraud by falsely claiming to have insurance.”
Vehicle owners without insurance may also see their car impounded, the revocation of their registration, or suspension of license plates. If you are in a traffic collision while you're failing to meet insurance requirements, your license and registration could be suspended for 180 days.
Louisiana is also a “No Pay, No Play” state. This means an uninsured driver is not allowed to collect certain damages from an insured driver's insurance company, no matter who caused the crash. In other words, driving without insurance can come back to haunt you, even if you’re driving carefully.
Penalties for Driving with a Suspended License in Louisiana
What can happen if you’re caught driving with suspended license in Louisiana? Nothing good, according DrivingLaws.org. You can face steep fines, jail time, and a driver’s license suspension. The consequences get more severe for repeat offenders.
SR-22 Insurance in Louisiana
Some high-risk drivers are also required to keep an SR-22 (also known as a certificate of financial responsibility) on file with the state verifying they have purchased auto insurance coverage that satisfies Louisiana’s minimum coverage requirements. You might be required to keep one on file if:
- You have been caught not maintaining proper liability coverage.
- You were convicted of a DUI/DWI.
- You have committed other serious driving violations.
If you need an SR-22 filed to demonstrate financial responsibility compliance or have questions about the penalties for non-compliance, we’d be happy to help. Direct Auto specializes in helping Louisiana drivers find affordable car insurance coverage, regardless of their history. Give us a call today for a free quote.
High-Risk Auto Insurance in Louisiana
Most individuals don’t have a spotless driving record, and after a certain number of violations or a serious enough violation, drivers can be considered a major risk to insure. While some companies try to steer clear of these individuals, other insurance companies offer non-standard insurance (another name for high-risk auto insurance) to provide financial protection for these drivers.
At Direct Auto, we're proud to offer non-standard coverage. We believe your driving history shouldn't define you forever, and we work hard to find quality, affordable coverage for every driver, regardless of their past.
Where can I find the cheapest car insurance rates in Louisiana?
Car insurance costs vary depending on a number of factors, including:
- The amount & type of coverage you choose
- The year, make, and model of the vehicle you drive
- How much you drive, where you drive, and where you live
- Your demographics
- Your driving record
- Your credit history
The good news is that Direct Auto Insurance can help drivers, even those with a less-than-perfect driving record, find car insurance coverage.
Get a free car insurance quote online, or work with a Direct Auto agent to create a coverage plan that not only meets your state's requirements but fits your needs as well. We’ll work hard to make sure you get any discounts you’re entitled to receive so your premium is the lowest price possible.
Louisiana Regional Auto Insurance
Depending on where you live, you might have specific wishes or “must-haves” regarding your car insurance policy. After all, a policyholder who lives and drives in busy Baton Rouge traffic might want more coverage than someone who lives in a small town where traffic jams don’t exist. But no matter what city you call home in the Pelican State, we’re here to help you get covered.
Other Louisiana Auto Insurance Resources
Find Cheap Car Insurance in Louisiana with Direct Auto!
Call, click, or come in to get a Louisiana car insurance quote from Direct Auto! We always offer affordable coverage options, and we work hard to get you cheap car insurance in Louisiana so you can keep driving to exciting new adventures.
*Roadside Assistance is not insurance and is administered through Nation Safe Drivers, Boca Raton, FL. Not all benefits available in all states.