Georgia Car Insurance Guide

Before you get behind the wheel in the “Peach State,” it's a good idea to make sure your insurance coverage meets legal requirements. This guide has the details you need to know about auto insurance in Georgia. Let's take a closer look at insurance terminology, minimum requirements, answers to frequently asked questions, and more. So, sit back, relax, and learn what you need to know before you get on the road in Georgia.

Personal Auto Insurance

Should you ever be involved in an accident, whether it's a fender bender or four-car collision, auto insurance provides you with financial protection. Your policy, no matter how long the term, is a contract between you and your insurance company. You pay a premium, and the insurance company agrees to pay for your losses according to the terms laid out in your specific policy.

Georgia law requires motor vehicle owners and those leasing vehicles to maintain liability coverage (which is comprised of bodily injury and property damage) on any vehicle with active registration.

Georgia Driving Laws

Did you know that it’s now illegal to hold a cell phone while driving in the state of Georgia? If you haven't checked driving laws in the last year or two, you might have missed it! Effective July 1, 2018, Georgia banned drivers from holding or interacting with any stand-alone electronic device. During the COVID-19 outbreak of 2020, Governor Thomas Kemp waived road tests for new drivers seeking their licenses. He then backtracked, requiring everyone who received a license without a road test to complete the traditional process by September 30, 2020.

In other words, driving laws and insurance laws frequently change, so it’s important to make sure you stay up to date. You want to make sure your insurance coverage is sufficient and that you follow all the rules of the road.

Georgia Minimum Car Insurance Requirements

Georgia requires drivers to meet at least the state minimum liability requirements. These include:

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person injured in a crash
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per occurrence
  • $25,000 property damage liability per occurrence

The state’s Department of Insurance notes that while liability insurance is required to drive, there are drivers who ignore the law or unknowingly let their coverage lapse. They propose adding uninsured motorist Insurance to a policy to protect yourself should you ever be involved in a wreck with an uninsured driver.

Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Georgia

According to the Official Code of Georgia (40-6-10), those in violation of this subsection of state policy “shall be subject to a fine of not less than $200.00 nor more than $1,000.00 or imprisonment for not more than 12 months, or both.” If you have insurance but simply weren';t carrying your card at the time you were asked to provide proof of coverage, you can still be forced to pay a small fine.

It’s also worth noting that licensed insurance companies are required to submit notice of any terminations, additions, or deletions on your policy to the Georgia Department of Revenue's Insurance Database. So, if you let your coverage lapse in Georgia, the state will know, and your registration can be suspended. You can avoid all of these headaches by meeting the state's minimum requirements and carrying proof at all times.

Penalties for Driving with a Suspended License in Georgia

Driving without a license or operating a vehicle with a suspended license in Georgia can result in serious punishment. As stated in the Official Code of Georgia (40-5-121), the guilty party will face potential jail time and a series of escalating fines for each offense.

Common Car Insurance Terms & Definitions

Car insurance policies can seem overwhelming at first, but once you learn some of the basic terms, you’ll have a good idea of what exactly is covered in certain policies.

SR-22 Insurance in Georgia

You might have heard of “SR-22 Insurance” before, but did you know it's not actually a type of auto insurance? An SR-22 is a certificate your auto insurance company files with the state to prove you have the required insurance coverage in force. SR stands for “safety responsibility,” and drivers who are applying to have their suspended driver's license reinstated or otherwise comply with a state order must submit one to prove they're maintaining minimum insurance coverage. You might be required to fill out an SR-22 if you have:

  • Been convicted of a DUI
  • Failed to maintain continuous auto insurance coverage
  • Committed serious violations while driving

Non-Standard Car Insurance

Some insurance companies consider drivers with a history of traffic violations, poor credit, or DUI convictions to be “high risk.” However, some companies, like Direct Auto, offer non-standard insurance as an affordable alternative to what you might pay at other companies. Don't be discouraged if your driving record is not perfect. You can still find quality coverage!

Uninsured Motorist Coverage in Georgia

Georgia requires its drivers to meet minimum liability requirements, but, sadly, some drivers do not obey the law.

Liability coverage will pay for another person’s expenses if you cause an accident. But, if you're injured (and/or your car is damaged) in a crash caused by someone else, you’re counting on their insurance to cover your financial losses. And, if they're uninsured or underinsured, you could end up paying a sizable bill you weren't planning on. This is why uninsured motorist coverage (or underinsured motorist coverage) is worth considering. Your premium might be more expensive, but you’ll be covered just in case.

Find Affordable Car Insurance Rates

Your auto insurance rate is determined by a number of different factors, including:

  • The amount and type of coverage you choose
  • The type of vehicle you drive
  • How much you drive and where you drive
  • Your demographics
  • Your driving record
  • Your credit history

No matter what your driving history looks like, at Direct Auto, we'll work hard to help you find an affordable plan that’s right for you. We offer flexible payment options, a number of discounts, and more!

Georgia Motorcycle Insurance Laws

The minimum insurance requirements for motorcycle owners is the same as those with cars:

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person injured in a crash
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per occurrence
  • $25,000 property damage liability per occurrence

In addition to the minimum coverage, you may be interested in purchasing guest passenger liability coverage. This additional coverage will provide financial protection for you and protect passengers who ride on your bike in the event of a crash.

More Information

If you have questions about car insurance requirements or options in the state of Georgia, we'd be happy to help! Call 1-877-GO-DIRECT, visit us online, or stop by one of our convenient office locations for a free, no-obligation quote.

More Insurance Resources

Related Articles to Explore

  • Florida Car Insurance Guide

    Here's what you need to know about obtaining insurance in Florida.

    View Article