Arkansas Car Insurance Laws

After 9 PM, steer clear of any local sandwich shops; it's illegal to honk your horn where cold drinks and sandwiches are served in Arkansas. What a weird driving law, right? Here's one that's not so weird. Arkansas law requires that drivers have financial responsibility on all registered vehicles and carry proof in all vehicles. Direct Auto Insurance offers the amount of coverage required to meet minimum liability limits, making it easy to maintain financial responsibility and drive legally.

Arkansas Car Insurance Requirements

Here's the required amount of auto insurance needed to legally drive in the state of Arkansas:

  • Property Damage Liability – At least $25,000 to cover damage to the property of others in an car accident

  • Bodily Injury Liability  - At least $25,000 to cover injury to or death of one person as the result of a car accident; At least $50,000 to cover injuries to or death of more than one person as the result of a car accident.

In addition to liability coverage, Arkansas auto insurers are required to offer uninsured motorist coverage (UM). Drivers do not have to accept this coverage, but rejection of UM coverage must be in writing.

Arkansas also has an “add-on” no-fault ( personal injury protection) insurance requirement, which means car insurance companies are required to offer this coverage, but the driver may reject this coverage as well.

Arkansas Motorcycle Insurance Laws

The required amount of insurance coverage for Arkansas motorcyclists is the same as it is for automobiles. However, not all motorcycle insurance policies cover passengers. Motorcycle Guest Passenger Liability (GPL) must be purchased in order to cover passengers if you are found to be liable or legally at fault for an accident.

Read more about FAQs about car insurance in Arkansas! Contact Direct Auto at 1-877-GO-DIRECT (1-877-463-4732) or visit an Arkansas location near you.