Last updated: November 2023
Whether you live in Charleston, Huntington, or Morgantown, you must meet the West Virginia minimum auto insurance requirements before you embark on any adventures in the “Mountain State.” So, take a few minutes to learn about car insurance in West Virginia. Find out which coverages are mandatory, which ones are optional, and how a Direct Auto Insurance policy could be your cheap West Virginia car insurance solution. Get a free quote to see how much money you can save.
West Virginia Car Insurance Laws
Do you have to have car insurance in West Virginia?
West Virginia law requires all drivers have proof of financial responsibility, which is most commonly satisfied with a car insurance policy. West Virginia auto insurance policies must at least meet the minimum liability coverage limits, typically expressed as three numbers representing thousands of dollars. For example, the liability limits in West Virginia are 25/50/25, as shown below under West Virginia Minimum Car Insurance Requirements.
In addition to liability coverage, West Virginia requires drivers to carry uninsured motorist bodily injury and uninsured motorist property damage coverage.
West Virginia Minimum Car Insurance Requirements
Wondering what your insurance policy needs to fulfill West Virginia’s insurance requirements? Here’s a quick breakdown by coverage type.
Is It Required by Law?
Bodily Injury Liability Coverage provides financial protection if you cause an accident that injures another person. It helps pay for their medical expenses and your legal services (if necessary).
Yes. $25,000 bodily injury per person/$50,000 bodily injury per accident.
Property Damage Liability Coverage helps pay to repair or replace other people’s property that is damaged in an accident you cause. It typically involves damage to another vehicle, but it could help pay to repair a house, fence, mailbox, and more.
Yes. $25,000 property damage per accident.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage (UM/UIM) helps pay for your medical bills and related expenses if the other driver has no coverage (UM), insufficient coverage (UIM), or can’t be identified due to hit and run. In some states, UM/UIM can also help pay for property damage.
Yes. $25,000 UM bodily injury per person. $50,000 UM bodily injury per accident. $25,000 UM property damage per accident.
Medical Payments Coverage (Med Pay) helps pay for your medical and related expenses stemming from an accident, regardless of fault.
Collision Coverage helps pay to repair or replace your vehicle if you collide with another car, tree, guardrail, or another object, regardless of fault.
Comprehensive Coverage helps pay to repair or replace your vehicle if it’s damaged by something other than a collision, like fire, floodwaters, falling branches, vandalism, or contact with an animal.
IMPORTANT NOTE: While purchasing liability coverage and UM coverage ensures you meet state laws, it doesn’t always protect you or your vehicle. You would need to add additional coverage, like comprehensive and collision, to protect yourself and your vehicle more fully.
1Your lender may require these coverages if you lease or finance your vehicle.
Are there additional coverage options?
For added peace of mind, there are add-on services and other insurance products available to West Virginia drivers:
- Roadside Assistance*
- Emergency Protection Plan (EPP)*
- Towing & Labor Coverage
- Rental Reimbursement Coverage
West Virginia Proof of Financial Responsibility and Penalties
What if I don't meet West Virginia’s minimum car insurance requirements?
The Mountain State takes a strict stance on uninsured drivers. The fines and other penalties for driving without insurance vary depending on the nature of the violation.
If you’re unable to present proof of coverage or caught driving without insurance, you could be facing administrative penalties that affect your registration and driver’s license, according to the DMV. These don’t include any potential criminal penalties like fines or jail time that you could also face if you’re caught without coverage.
You should always carry proof of insurance because you need to be able to provide it upon request after an accident or during a traffic stop.
Penalties for Driving with a Suspended License in West Virginia
Driving without a valid license can lead to serious penalties in West Virginia. The infraction can lead to a misdemeanor charge that comes with fines or potential jail time. Ultimately, the penalties depend on which offense it is and your unique circumstances.
SR-22 Insurance in West Virginia
Some states require high-risk drivers to keep an SR22 (also known as a certificate of financial responsibility) on file with the state verifying they have purchased auto insurance coverage that satisfies the state’s minimum coverage requirements. West Virginia doesn’t require SR-22 filings. However, if you move, you might be required to keep one on file with your new state if:
- You have committed serious driving violations.
- You have failed to maintain proper liability coverage or have broken state insurance laws.
- You were convicted of a DUI/DWI.
If you have any questions about SR-22 filings, we’d be happy to help. Our agents specialize in helping people find affordable car insurance coverage, regardless of their history.
High-Risk Auto Insurance in West Virginia
Many individuals do not have a perfect driving record, and after a certain number of violations or a serious enough violation, drivers can be considered a major risk to insure. While some companies try to steer clear of these individuals, other insurance companies offer non-standard insurance (another name for high-risk auto insurance) to provide financial protection for these drivers.
We believe your driving history shouldn't define you forever, and we work hard to find quality, affordable coverage for every driver, regardless of their past.
Where can I find the cheapest car insurance rates in West Virginia?
Car insurance costs vary depending on a number of factors, including:
- The amount & type of coverage you choose
- The year, make, and model of the vehicle you drive
- How much you drive, where you drive, and where you live
- Your demographics
- Your driving record
- Your credit history
Other West Virginia Auto Insurance Resources
- West Virginia DMV
- West Virginia Offices of the Insurance Commissioner
- Official Website of West Virginia
Find Cheap Car Insurance in West Virginia with Direct Auto!
Looking for affordable and cheap car insurance in West Virginia? Get a free car insurance quote for a Direct Auto policy today that meets your state’s requirements, fits your needs, and includes any discounts you’re entitled to receive so your premium is the lowest price possible. Call or click to get a West Virginia car insurance quote today!
*Emergency Protection Plans (EPP) and Roadside Assistance are not insurance and are administered through Nation Safe Drivers, Boca Raton, FL. Not all benefits available in all states.
**The “Direct Auto Insurance” brand is used by insurers in the National General Group, Winston-Salem, NC to describe their direct-to-consumer auto insurance programs. Direct Auto Insurance branded policies are produced by Direct General Insurance Agency, Inc. dba “Direct Auto Insurance” and by National General Insurance Marketing Inc.