Last updated: August 2023
Direct Auto Insurance is proud to offer car insurance in Florida, the “Sunshine State.” Whether you live in Miami, Orlando, or the Panhandle, you must meet the Florida minimum car insurance requirements to comply with state laws. Take a few minutes to learn what coverages are required, which ones are optional, and how Direct Auto can help you find cheap Florida car insurance. Get a free quote to see how much money you can save with Direct.
Florida Car Insurance Laws
Do you have to have car insurance in Florida?
Yes, to register your car in the Sunshine State, Florida law requires an auto insurance policy that provides at least the state minimum coverage limits, which are $10,000 of Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage and $10,000 Property Damage Liability (PDL) coverage. Florida law also requires all drivers to be financially responsible if they cause bodily injuries or death as a result of a motor vehicle crash. The minimum amounts are $10,000 for one person, one crash and $20,000 because of bodily injury or death to two or more persons in one crash. This requirement is most commonly satisfied by including bodily injury liability coverage on your car insurance policy.
What is a no-fault state?
When people say, “Florida is a no-fault state,” what do they mean? Well, in a no-fault state, each person injured in a car accident files a claim with their own insurance company and relies on their own coverage to pay for their medical expenses regardless of who was at fault. If an injured party does not have their own auto insurance, they would file a claim under the policy insuring the vehicle they were occupying at the time of the accident.
In an at-fault state, however, the at-fault driver would be liable for 100% of the injured person’s medical expenses. In this scenario, the at-fault driver's insurance would help cover the accident victim's expenses.
No-fault coverage only applies to personal injuries. In both no-fault states and at-fault states, drivers file property damage claims with the at-fault party’s insurer.
Florida Minimum Car Insurance Requirements
Wondering what your insurance policy needs to make sure you’re fulfilling Florida’s insurance requirements? Here’s a quick breakdown by coverage type.
Is It Required by Law?
Bodily Injury Liability Coverage provides financial protection if you cause an accident that injures another person. It helps pay for their medical expenses and your legal services (if necessary). Because Florida is a no-fault state, bodily injury coverage is most helpful if you’re sued.
Not required. But if you cause a crash and don’t have financial responsibility from other sources, you will be required to purchase bodily injury liability coverage and certify your policy with an SR22.
Property Damage Liability Coverage helps pay to repair or replace other people’s property that is damaged in an accident you cause. It typically involves damage to another vehicle, but it could help pay to repair a house, fence, mailbox, and more.
Yes. $10,000 property damage per accident.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage (UM/UIM) helps pay for your medical bills and related expenses if the other driver has no coverage (UM), insufficient coverage (UIM), or can’t be identified due to hit and run. In some states, UM/UIM can also help pay for property damage.
Not required. UM/UIM coverage is not available unless you have bodily injury coverage. If you choose to purchase bodily injury liability coverage, you can reject this coverage in writing.
Personal Injury Protection helps pay for your medical and related expenses stemming from an accident, regardless of fault.
Collision Coverage helps pay to repair or replace your vehicle if you collide with another car, tree, guardrail, or another object, regardless of fault.
Comprehensive Coverage helps pay to repair or replace your vehicle if it’s damaged by something other than a collision, like fire, floodwaters, falling branches, vandalism, or contact with an animal.
IMPORTANT NOTE: While purchasing state-mandated coverage ensures you follow Florida’s insurance laws, it doesn’t necessarily protect you and your vehicle in every circumstance. You might need to add additional coverage to more fully protect yourself and your vehicle from damages.
1Your lender might require these coverages if you lease or finance your vehicle.
Are there additional coverage options?
For added peace of mind, Direct Auto offers add-on services and other insurance products for Florida drivers:
- Roadside Assistance*
- Emergency Protection Plan (EPP)*
- Medical Payments Coverage (Med Pay)
- Towing & Labor Coverage
- Rental Reimbursement Coverage
Florida Proof of Financial Responsibility & Penalties
What if I don’t meet Florida’s minimum car insurance requirements?
Every Florida driver is required to have proof of financial responsibility to drive legally. If you’re caught driving without insurance, you could lose your license, lose your registration and face steep fines. The penalty depends on which offense it is and if you cause an accident.
Drivers must always carry proof of insurance and must be able to present proof of insurance upon request, such as during a traffic stop, at an accident scene, etc. You can do so by showing your physical ID card or downloading an electronic copy to your mobile device.
To fight back against uninsured motorists, insurance companies in Florida notify the state if your policy terminates or you remove a vehicle from it, according to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. This means it’s critical to follow all car insurance laws and maintain continuous coverage to avoid any penalties.
Penalties for Driving with a Suspended License in Florida
Thinking about getting behind the wheel with a suspended license? Think again! The penalties for driving while suspended in Florida depend on your circumstances, but they can include fines, jail time, or a combination of the two.
SR-22 Insurance in Florida
Some high-risk drivers are also required to keep an SR22 (also known as a certificate of financial responsibility) on file with the state verifying they have purchased auto insurance coverage that satisfies the state’s minimum coverage requirements. You might be required to keep one on file if:
- You commit serious driving related violations.
- You are cited for not maintaining proper liability coverage.
- You were convicted of a DUI/DWI.
- Your driver’s license is suspended.
If you need an SR22 filed to demonstrate financial responsibility compliance or have questions about the penalties for non-compliance, we’d be happy to help. Direct Auto specializes in helping people find affordable car insurance coverage, regardless of their history. Give us a call today for a free quote.
FR-44 Insurance in Florida
Florida and Virginia are the only two states that use FR44s. An FR44 is not actually a type of insurance. “FR” stands for “financial responsibility.” An FR44 is a certificate that verifies that a driver's insurance coverage meets the mandated financial responsibility requirements. Your auto insurance company is responsible for filing the FR44 with the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.
Under Florida driving law, a driver may be required to file an FR44 for three years if convicted of:
- Injuring another person while under the influence of drugs or alcohol
- Driving while under the influence
- Driving with a forfeited license due to a conviction, or due to a “finding of not innocent” in the case of a juvenile
- Violating the provisions of any federal law, the law of any other state, or local ordinance similar to the above
The main difference between an SR22 and an FR44 is that an FR44 requires you to purchase more liability insurance, increasing the limits to:
- $100,000 for injury or death to one person
- $300,000 for injury or death of two or more people
- $50,000 for property damage liability
High Risk Auto Insurance in Florida
Most individuals do not have a perfect driving record, and after a certain number of violations or a serious enough violation, drivers can be considered a major risk to insure. While some companies try to steer clear of these individuals, other insurance companies offer non-standard insurance (another name for high-risk auto insurance) to provide financial protection for these drivers.
At Direct Auto, we're proud to offer non-standard coverage. We believe your driving history shouldn't define you forever, and we work hard to find quality, affordable coverage for every driver, regardless of their past.
Where can I find the cheapest car insurance rates in Florida?
Car insurance costs vary depending on a number of factors, including:
- The amount & type of coverage you choose
- The year, make, and model of the vehicle you drive
- How much you drive, where you drive, and where you live
- Your demographics
- Your driving record
- Your credit history
The good news is that Direct Auto Insurance can help drivers, even those with a less-than-perfect driving record, find car insurance coverage.
Get a free car insurance quote online, or work with a Direct Auto agent to create a coverage plan that not only meets your state's requirements but fits your needs as well. We’ll work hard to make sure you get any discounts you’re entitled to receive so your premium is the lowest price possible.
Other Florida Auto Insurance Resources
- Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles
- Florida Office of Insurance Regulation
- Official State of Florida website
- Florida Department of Transportation
Find Cheap Car Insurance in Florida with Direct Auto
Call, click, or come in to get a Florida car insurance quote from Direct Auto! We always offer affordable coverage options, and we work hard to get you cheap car insurance in Florida so you can keep driving.
*Emergency Protection Plans (EPP) and Roadside Assistance are not insurance and are administered through Nation Safe Drivers, Boca Raton, FL. Not all benefits available in all states.